Twenty Sixte-, err, Seventeen

I cannot believe how fast 2016 went by. I literally thought it was only July and I was still preparing to take the exam of my life and now it’s the sixth day of 2017, which means I have lived for 25 years now (hashtag silver, as my guy teases me). And now I’m basically jobless and officially a house bum for six months already. Wow, so much for what they call the quarter-life crisis, eh?


As becoming a tradition, I shall present to you my best nine pictures on Instagram. Of all the social media I have ( I still don’t have a Snapchat account), Instagram is where I am most active at. Last year, I have managed to post 155 photos which consist of the most mundane things like what I had for dessert and some random wall graffiti about pizza to sharing the most awesome things I have done and been up to in 2016. Each photo I share gives a peek on what goes in my mind and what I feel on that particular day.

Aside from that, let me share to you guys the highlights of my 2016.

 

Weekend at Villasis, Pangasinan

From my previous post which you can read here, I spent 2D1N at my guy’s hometown. It may not matter for some girls but for me it was a huge milestone in our relationship. Also, it was a relief that my parents actually gave me the permission to spend a weekend somewhere with him.

Tagaytay- Agsalda-Dela Cruz Nuptial


The first wedding I attended for this year. It was held at a private and fancy place in Tagaytay. I forgot to take as much pictures but I must say it was a great place to host garden weddings and it has a huge hall for reception. The ceremony was simple and intimate with only a few guests invited. It was one of the best weddings I attended and witnessed.

Laiya, Batangas- The Anniversary Special


Our fifth year together. Up until now,  I am still in awe at how far we have managed to keep this relationship working and how this guy has been loving me unconditionally through all these years. And so for this special day, we decided to celebrate at La Luz Beach Resort in Laiya, Batangas. It was a 4-hour drive without the traffic since we went out on a holiday. It was like a never-ending road far south, but it was all worth it. The place was so remote it was like the farthest resort one could reach in Batangas. But bless my country for its lovely beaches, the place was all beauty and serene.

Puerto Galera- SGPO Team Building


It was a memorable weekend with my guy and his office mates on their annual team building in the office. It was my first time to ride a ferry boat and snorkel and to experience an infinity pool. Puerto Galera, however, like many people have said, are for the party-goers due mainly to its nightlife at its famous White Beach. But there are also other activities that can be done such as hiking and snorkeling and island hopping. I am still blessed to be able to step foot on this place no matter what others throw on this lovely island.

Tagaytay with the Reginos


Another trip to Tagaytay but this time with my guy’s family before his sister, Jewel, flew back to Guam.

Tanay, Rizal- Masungi Georeserve


Now comes the real adventure of 2016. Masungi Georeserve is one place near Metro Manila you can visit if you’re up to hiking and trekking. I know there are a lot more mountains to conquer but what makes this place special is their unique form of providing serenity while going up and down the mountains. It features ‘Sapot’ (lower right photo) which is like a stopover and is a great platform to ‘get a spectacular view of Laguna de Bay’. MG also houses, if I am not mistaken, the longest giant hammock in the Philippines (upper left photo). They also serve the most delicious sandwich and calamansi juice after the 4-hour trek.

Green Canyon Eco Art Resort, Pampanga


Spent a weekend at a secluded resort in Pampanga. Staying here even for just a night was a bit pricey but it was worth it. The resort was the ideal place for ‘staycation’ especially if you want to relax and unwind. The place was surrounded with mountains so cellphone signals can be problematic (but hey, it was one the quietest weekend I’ve had in a long time!). They have 2 huge pools (one was a wave pool) and they offer bicycles for free to use when roaming around the whole resort.

Fortune Island, Nasugbu, Batangas


My second out-of-town trip with my high school friends. We were almost, almost complete.

Cintai Corito’s Garden, Batangas


Celebrated my guy’s birthday in the South. He needed this quick getaway from the stress of his work ever since the new administration took place and so it was the perfect spot to relax.

Daranak Falls, Tanay, Rizal


Quick escape with my cousins to see this majestic scenery. Didn’t try the waters though because the color of the water suggests how deep it is and there were too many people swimming and so I opted to take as many pictures and just enjoy the view.

Sand Dunes, Paoay, Ilocos Norte


I have always wanted to go here and try sandboarding ever since I’ve heard that such place existed in our province. And now I feel like a true Ilocana after visiting this place and experiencing their adrenaline-inducing 4×4 ride and sandboarding.

Karingking Serrek Picnic Grove, Ilocos Norte


Last trek for this year. I really thought I would not make it out alive. Of course I was not yet ready to die but this trip was weird. But yeah, I survived and it was awesome. Crossed a river, trekked for hours (or so I thought?), bathed in the cold waters of the falls and finally, made our way back to the start via water tubing. Great way to end 2016, indeed.

Cruz-Gaon Nuptial


After 16 years they have FINALLY tied the knot! Witnessed the wedding of my guy’s cousin with her long-time-almost-lifetime partner. It was a civil wedding with only a few guests invited but it became like a reunion with my co-workers at the clinic where I used to work at.

A lot has happened this year that I will never forget. Of course there were the places I was able to visit and new experiences I tried (and survived). But most importantly, this year had me focused more on my career, on deciding what and where I want to be in life and to start establishing myself as a professional in the long run. Sure I still have things to do to get to where I want to in life, but hey, at least I’ve had that first step done of leaving my comfort zone of many years and start exploring the many opportunities of my career. I am always thankful for He has answered all my prayers and has always guided me as I continue my journey.

Now I am off to pursue my dreams this 2017. 🙂

About storyofjane

Amica Galicinao 🇵🇭 I am a random person. I post anything that comes in my mind. I have a few blogs aside from Wordpress but this is the only site that I'm updating now. Pictures here are taken from my phone and some from the internet. I'm no photographer. I just love taking pictures. Feel free to explore my world and thoughts in words. Have fun! :)
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

